INCCA Café Peer Forums on Replication

Posted on Wed, 08/24/2022 - 02:07
INCCA Café

Posted on behalf of Alex Nichols. INCCA Café: 'Remaking, Remastering, Reproducing' in collaboration with Tate, London INCCA, in collaboration with Tate, are hosting two INCCA cafés to discuss the challenges and considerations surrounding remaking, remastering and reproducing contemporary artworks in museum collections. These INCCA cafés will act as peer forums and are being held in conjunction with Tate's Reshaping the Collectible: Learning Through Change conference, scheduled from 14-16 September 2022 and made possible thanks to a generous grant provided by the Mellon Foundation. These intimate cafés are intended to be an informal session where attendees can discuss the practical and ethical considerations surrounding artworks in their institution's collection which in the past - or in the future – will require some form of replication by the institution or examples of replication that they have been involved in within private practice. The goal of the cafés is to act as a practice sharing session. In order to foster a space where it is possible to openly discuss current practice, challenges and dilemmas, these peer forums will not be recorded. The two cafés will be in the same format but scheduled at different times of day to provide opportunities for those from different timezones to participate. The two INCCA Café sessions will be hosted in Zoom and will take place at: First session: Thursday 15 September At the equivalent times of: · PST – 02:15 – 03:15 · BST - 10:15 – 11:15 · CEST + CAT - 11:15 – 12:15 · HKT + CST – 17:15 – 18:15 · KST – 18:15 – 19:15 · AEST - 19:15 – 20:15 · EDT - 05:15 – 06:15 Second session: Thursday 15 September At the equivalent times of: · PST – 09:15 – 10:15 · EDT - 12:15 – 13:15 · BST - 17:15 – 18:15 · CEST + CAT - 18:15 – 19:15 Friday 16 September · HKT + CST – 00:15 – 01:15 · KST – 01:15 – 02:15 · AEST - 02:15 – 03:15 Topics of discussion raised during the INCCA cafés may include: · When is replication appropriate as a conservation strategy? · What challenges have or do you expect to come across? · Is there a formalized process across institutions for implementing the replication of artworks? · What are the ethical considerations one should consider when undertaking this responsibility? · What do those involved in remaking, remastering and reproducing find challenging? What is driving any feelings of unease? · Is the artist's involvement always necessary for quality control? Each INCCA Café session will be limited to 8 attendees, so an RSVP is required. Each attendee will be encouraged to bring an example of a work that either has experienced some form of replication or will likely require it in the future. Attendees will be able to share their screen to show any images or other documentation which may aid in the discussion. To RSVP for one of the INCCA Cafés please email jess.sully@tate.org.uk and indicate which of the two sessions you would like to join. We aim to confirm the attendees for each session by 5 September.