You are here

Preserving Light Art: INCCA Café & Talk

The next INCCA events are dedicated to exploring the preservation of Light Art! The conversations will take place in two parts, with a Talk centering the artist voice on 14 December and a Café on 15 December focusing on conservators experiences and informal discussions.

Please join us as a guest in these online events on Zoom. During the Talk & Cafes there is room for questions, so please prepare if you wish to ask anything. Registration is free of charge, register to get a free ticket below.

INCCA Talk with Raphael Lozano-Hemmer, 14 December, Zoom
9 am PST/ 11am CST / 12pm EST/ 5pm GMT/ 6pm CET
In our Talk (part I) we are thrilled to welcome Raphael Lozano-Hemmer. Raphael Lozano-Hemmer is a media artist working at the intersection of architecture and performance art. Born in Mexico, he is now based in Montreal. He creates platforms for public participation using technologies such as robotic lights, digital fountains, computerized surveillance, media walls, and telematic networks. Inspired by phantasmagoria, carnival, and animatronics, his light and shadow works are "antimonuments for alien agency". Rafael has given much thought to the preservation of his work and of Light Art in general and will discuss his practice.

INCCA Café on Light Art, 15 December, Zoom *SOLD OUT*
9 am PST/ 11am CST / 12pm EST/ 5pm GMT/ 6pm CET
On the following day, the Café will feature lightening talks by conservators, sharing their experiences documenting, installing and conserving Light Art.  These very short talks aim to spark ideas and stimulate discussion. The INCCA Cafés are an informal opportunity to exchange knowledge and create new connections. The full list of speakers during the Café can be found here.

Join us for these two inspiring sessions!

Please register via these links:

INCCA Talk: Raphael Lozano Hemmer, December 14th 9 am PST/ 11am CST/ / 12pm EST/ 5pm GMT/ 6pm CET

INCCA Café: conservators on light art, December 15th 9 am PST/ 11am CST/ / 12pm EST/ 5pm GMT/ 6pm CET

Image credit: Raphael Lozano-Hemmer, You Are Here: Light, Color, and Sound Experiences, North Carolina Museum of Art, 2018.

Comments